Monterrey and Bethlehem

2009-06-13 00:00:00




Country: Mexico

Date of Agreement: 27 September 1997

Current Mayor: Fernando Larrazabal



Monterrey also known as "Sultana Del Norte" (Sultan of the North), is the capital city of the northeastern Mexican state of Nuevo León. It has the third largest metropolitan area in Mexico. The demonym of Monterrey is Regiomontano.

Monterrey is located in northeast Mexico, at the foothills of the Sierra Madre Oriental. The recorded history of Monterrey starts in 1596, with the foundation by Diego de Montemayor. In the years after the Mexican Independence War, Monterrey became an important business center. With the establishment of Fundidora Monterrey, the city experienced industrial growth. Monterrey is an important industrial and business center, serving as operation host for an array of Mexican companies, including CEMEX, Vitro and Cervecería Cuauhtémoc Moctezuma and also for international companies such as Carrier, Daewoo, General Electric, Gamesa, LG and Teleperformance, among others. Monterrey is known for its hot weather in summer reaching 40 °C (104 °F) or more for three consecutive months, being one of the warmest major cities in Mexico.



مباشر من ساحة المهد