2017-03-25 06:21:47

About Burlington

Burlington is the largest city in the US State of Vermont and the county seat of Chittenden County. With a population of 42,417 in 2010, the city is the core of one of the nation's smaller metropolitan areas, and is also the smallest US city to be the largest city within its state. The urbanized area consists of the cities of Burlington, South Burlington, and Winooski; the towns of Colchester, Essex, and Williston; and the village of Essex Junction.

As of 2000, the Burlington-South Burlington metropolitan area contained the three northwestern Vermont counties of Chittenden, Franklin, and Grand Isle, with an estimated population of 206,007 in 2006, approximately one third of Vermont's total population.

The Twinning

The two cities became twinned in order to facilitate cultural exchange and cooperation in a wide range of spheres, such as municipal policy, management, economics, science, arts, trade and tourism. Notable cooperation has included financial aid to assist families affected by the Second Intifada, mutual visits by delegations from each city, a high school exchange program in 2003, and an exhibition of Palestinian art in Montpelier, Vermont in 2005. 

Live from the Manger Square