Buenos Aires

2019-03-11 13:05:23

About the town

Buenos Aires is the capital of Argentina and its largest city. It is also the second-largest metropolitan area in South America. The Greatest Buenos Aires conurbation, which also includes several Buenos Aires Province districts, constitutes the third-largest conurbation in Latin America, with a population of around fifteen million.

The city of Buenos Aires is neither part of Buenos Aires Province nor the Province's capital; rather, it is an autonomous district. In 1880, after decades of political infighting, Buenos Aires was federalized and removed from Buenos Aires Province. The city limits were enlarged to include the towns of Belgrano and Flores; both are now neighbourhoods of the city. The 1994 constitutional amendment granted the city autonomy, hence its formal name: Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires (Autonomous City of Buenos Aires). Its citizens first elected a Chief of Government (i.e. Mayor) in 1996; before that, the Mayor was directly appointed by the President of the Republic.


About the twinning agreement

A twinning agreement for cooperation and exchange was signed in Bethlehem in June 2012 between Mr. Victor Batarseh, the then Mayor of Bethlehem, and five Deputies from the City of Buenos Aires. This agreement aimed to have both cities participate jointly in actions that deepen the relationships between both bodies, with particular regard to cultural, economic and political exchanges, and tourism, in order to exchange knowledge and experiences that foster permanent development and progress.


Live from the Manger Square