About Municipality

2014-11-24 16:30:09

Bethlehem Municipality was established in 1872, and is one of the first Palestinian municipalities. It administrates providing services and projects to develop all aspects of life in Bethlehem; the Birthplace of Jesus Christ.

The current elected municipal council has assumed its responsibilities in November 2012, and consists of 15 members, headed by Ms. Vera Baboun, to be the first woman mayor in the history of the city of Bethlehem.

Bethlehem is located about 10 km to the south of Jerusalem, with a population of approximately 30,000 inhabitants. It is the center of culture and tourism in Palestine, especially that it embraces that Church of the Nativity that was registered in the UNESCO World Heritage List in June, 2012. In addition to that, Bethlehem holds several churches, historic and archeologic sites that reflect the city’s tradition and authenticity.